top of page

Novel Ways To Find Your Lost Cat

It’s a sad day…your gut is in your throat…and your head and heart ache with worry for your beautiful, wonderful, innocent, lovable furry feline friend and family member –for he didn’t come home tonight from his day of frolicking and being a cat in the great outdoors.

But, there is no time to waste feeling sorry for yourself or your cat! She could be in danger and need every bit of your help and energy NOW! Believe me, as someone who has had cats in her home for most of her life and cherished each and every one of them in their own special unique way, I have had many disappear…and I know the sinking feeling. The only thing that ever allowed me to lose that sinking feeling was doing everything I possibly could about it, and not waiting to act. It saddens me to see it so common on Facebook and on posters around every billboard in every community I have ever lived in, just how many lost cats are out there.

Cats are highly, highly sensitive beings. Their energy fields are probably close to 20 times greater than humans (dogs are 10 times greater, and cats are even more sensitive to their environments than dogs). What does this mean? It means they can hear, smell and feel things that we can’t and/or far before we ever can. It also means that everything is magnified for them. When we have our music volume on 5, they hear it at 15 or more. They can sense and even smell things that we cannot.

What does all this mean for lost cats? It means that if we want to have a hope in finding them, we need to think and feel as they do, and perhaps as they might have in the moment that they disappeared. This is crucial in brainstorming where they may have gone. For example, your neighbor may have inadvertently popped by with his German Sheppard the morning of your cat’s disappearance. You already know that your cat is terrified of big dogs. Although you may not have seen your cat in that moment, he may have sensed the big dog long before you experienced the visit, and took off as he was spooked and felt threatened. Knowing this, you can get an idea as to where he may have gone and how long he may be gone for, based on his level of fear. Try to think and feel like your cat does. They are very much like children, meaning they live in the moment and take everything quite literally. In this example, your cat may not know that the dog was only there for a few minutes as he would have no concept of time, so he could be up a tree or hiding out in a safe place until HE is ready to come down. That could be in 2 hours or it could be in 3 days. It’s whenever your cat decides.

But don’t despair, you can be doing a lot and working proactively to find him while you wait for him to make up his mind – while you wait for him to feel safe enough to come home, and sometimes, you may have to go get him.

Here are some helpful tips that stretch beyond the scope of what lost pet sites might advise. And I would strongly advise you to heed their advice, as they know what they are talking about from experience!

1. Know your cat, his/her personality and behaviors. For example, I happen to know that my orange cat makes himself quite at home where ever he sees fit - like warm places in the sun – and he will enter any door that might be invitingly opened. Hence, I would suspect he could be trapped in a vehicle, tool shed, sun/plant room or garage. I once found my orange cat just because I knew this and put out posters. I put very specific posters out around my neighborhood saying to check your garages, tool sheds and vehicles…and, lo and behold, my beloved cat was home that night! Another time, I had to retrieve him from the local pound because he was making himself at home at my neighbor lady’s porch just up the road on a rural property! Because I don’t put collars on my cats, she thought he was a stray and turned him in. She felt so bad! But at least she came to me and let me know…because she saw the poster after the fact! The point is… is that it was the poster that saved him, once again, and where I had strategically place them, locally, nearby because I knew that my cat usually didn’t stray too far away. As a result, she saw the poster and contacted me, feeling so bad that she had turned my cat in! On the other hand, my other cat is very skittish and would never disappear in that regard but might instead be easily spooked and run further than where she may be familiar with. She would more likely be up a tree or hiding out in the forest somewhere. I have also found my cats in this situation, and based on my knowledge of their personality and usual behaviors, I was able to track them down.

Philly disappeared Sunday, February 13 from 2055 Northbrook Drive, Sidney. If you see him, please call Tracey @ 778-587-2287. Please look in your garage and in your vehicles as he may have been spooked and run for cover. Thank you for any help. We miss him dearly.

Northbrook Drive, Sidney.  If you see him, please call Tracey @ 778-587-2287.  Please look in your garage and in your vehicles as he may have been spooked and run for cover. Thank you for any help. We miss him dearly.

Philly returned in the wee hours of the following morning after posting this ad on the streets of my community. He had been gone a week, and, although I had posters up, I just knew I had to do more. So I put up this poster with specific instructions to open garage and vehicle doors, and lo and behold, that's when he returned! He had lost weight and naturally was extremely hungry when he got home, but he was ever so happy to be home! And so too were we!

2. Be in tune with the happenings that led up to your cat’s disappearance – if you are home most of time, it’s a lot easier to monitor this. However, that just isn’t realistic for most working busy people these days. What you can do is be proactive and try to schedule visitors and out of the ordinary events when you are home. Nowadays, you can also get GPS collars, monitor cameras, and electronic cat doors that only allow your cats to enter your home and not every other rodent, raccoon or neighboring cat on the block! Just knowing your neighbors, what pets they may have, and what wildlife might be around your neighborhood is worth its weight in gold when trying to find your lost cat.

3. Do all the things the lost pet sites say to do…and then some! If you want to find your cat, be a keener. Put up posters, talk to neighbors, get on social media sites so that others can put the word out for you. Tell everyone you see. You just never know when someone says…hey… I think I saw that cat a couple nights ago! Put out the familiar smells of your cat’s litter box, clothing and blankets. As I said earlier, cats have a huge energy field and will be able to detect these familiar scents from miles away. Call and search pounds, lost and found sites, and your local SPCA. Contact your town/city district road crews to see if anyone has picked your cat up due to injury and death on the road. This, of course, is the worst case scenario, but rule it out, so that you can still have the hope to believe he is alive and wanting to come home. Proactively, you can also have your cat micro-chipped and/or tattooed.

4. Get in touch with an Animal Communicator – Beyond your own intuition and bond with your cat, an animal communicator can get messages that you may not get. Sometimes, when it’s your own pet, you are too close to hear those deeper messages from them as you are too emotionally invested. As an animal communicator myself, I can say this is very true even of my own cats. Although I usually know intrinsically what my cats are saying, often times I cannot get those deeper messages because it’s like they are a part of me. In times like these, I seek outside help to get a balanced and neutral read. Animal communicators can get messages in ways that many people can’t because they are grounded and reaching out in genuine love and light. They can hear your animals through pictures, words and feelings (including smell sensations). They can be instrumental in communicating crucial clues that can lead to your cat’s whereabouts.

5. Look for your cat at different times of the day and night – For one thing, your cat may not want to come out in the day light as she may not feel safe to do so. There are many more people, trucks and noises in the day time, so you won’t have as good a chance at hearing her. Secondly, cats are nocturnal and may feel a lot safer coming to your calls at night. It’s much more peaceful and less threatening for your cat, and there is a far greater chance of hearing her in the quiet peace of night.

6. Most importantly, send out protective white light and the healing love of pink light to your cat Encase her in a bubble to protect her until she returns home safe and sound. Although you may not hear or see your cat, don’t doubt that she can definitely feel your positive loving hopeful energy around her. Remember, she can feel and sense things from miles around. Tell her how loved she is and how much joy it would bring you to have her come home. Picture her meowing at your door to be let in, or popping through her cat door hungry but happy to be home! Send her these messages over and over again, and you just might be surprised that what you have manifested can happen!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page